October 23, 2014
October 23, 2014
No bee left behind
October 22, 2014
Ari Goldkind releases comprehensive 15 year transit plan
9 things women tend to bring up that men struggle to find interesting
John Tory carries significant lead in Forum’s latest poll
The El Mocambo’s iconic neon sign finds its way onto eBay
Three Startups Looking to Make a Splash at AccelerateTO 2012
We preview some of the startups trying to bring revolutionary products to the world of consumer technology

On October 10 (tomorrow), the Burroughes Building and the C100, a non-profit organization devoted to helping build Canada’s next billion dollar tech company, will host AccelerateTO. Now in its third year, AccelerateTO brings more than 60 of Toronto’s most promising entrepreneurs and pairs them with some of Canada’s technology business elite for an evening of pitching, roundtable discussions, and relationship building. In the past, the event has helped cast the spotlight on some of Toronto’s most promising local startups and their products. This year will continue to build on the success of previous years, and you’re going to want to look out for our coverage of the whole thing later this week. In the meantime, here’s a preview of some of the companies attending the event that we think will be quick stars. 

Engagio

With a name charmingly reminiscent of tech site Engadget, Engagio promises to solve the digital overload created by the sites we use to lead our digital lives. The startup’s product is brilliant in its simplicity and execution: Engagio offers a unified inbox for all of its user’s social networks, blogs, community sites, content sites, and Q&A sites. So, for example, I can tie my WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, and Disqus accounts all to my Engagio account, and then use the company’s unified inbox to monitor and respond to whatever conversations I’m engaged in currently. Best of all, my Gmail account is returned to its original function: for reading and answering important emails. Now, if the company could only think of a way to make the countless PR emails I get more manageable…    

Uken Games

Uken Games is likely one of the more successful and established startups set to participate in AccelerateTO. The company creates multi-platform games for iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry, and Facebook. In terms of concept, the closest analogy to Uken is San Francisco based Zynga, a company that in 2011 generated $1.16 billon in revenue, both companies create play-for-free games that generate revenue through a series of in-game micro-transactions. For instance, in Uken’s game “Mighty Monsters,” a Pokémon-like game, players capture and train cute furry creatures to battle with against other players. Should they choose, players can invest real money to improve their creatures, and thus their chances at winning, creating a game that many would describe as “pay-to-win.” And while it might not seem like it, there’s a large audience for this type of game.  

ShopLocket 

ShopLocket promises to make “selling anything online as easy as embedding a Youtube video.” Unlike other ecommerce platforms, however, ShopLocket doesn’t create another digital storefront for users to sell their goods through. Instead, users create customized widgets that they can embed into their Facebook profile or Twitter stream. In addition, the company does not charge any up-front fees, and they provide several other helpful services like personalized analytics.     

____

Igor Bonifacic is a writer working for the Toronto Standard. You can follow him on twitter at @igorbonifacic

For more, follow us on Twitter @TorontoStandard and subscribe to our newsletter.

  • TOP STORIES
  • MOST COMMENTED
  • RECENT
By Dylan Freeman-Grist
October 20th, 2014
Editors Pick We went skydiving for journalism.
Read More
By Benjamin Mann
October 22nd, 2014
Culture 9 things women tend to bring up that men struggle to find interesting
Read More
By Igor Bonifacic
October 22nd, 2014
Editors Pick Ari Goldkind releases comprehensive 15 year transit plan
Read More
By Igor Bonifacic
October 22nd, 2014
Editors Pick The El Mocambo's iconic neon sign finds its way onto eBay
Read More
  • No article found.
  • By Dylan Freeman-Grist
    October 23rd, 2014
    Editors Pick No bee left behind
    Read More
    By Igor Bonifacic
    October 22nd, 2014
    Editors Pick Ari Goldkind releases comprehensive 15 year transit plan
    Read More
    By Benjamin Mann
    October 22nd, 2014
    Culture 9 things women tend to bring up that men struggle to find interesting
    Read More
    By Igor Bonifacic
    October 22nd, 2014
    Editors Pick John Tory carries significant lead in Forum's latest poll
    Read More

    SOCIETY SNAPS

    Society Snaps: Eric S. Margolis Foundation Launch

    Kristin Davis moved Toronto's philanthroists to tears ... then sent them all home with a baby elephant - Read More